Welcome and thanks

Thanksgiving: people you love eating decadent food artfully prepared just for them. How could it not be my favorite holiday? Last Sunday night I sat on the floor with 20 of my friends slowly inducing ourselves in to a food coma. I could not have been in a more perfect state of bliss: barefoot, sitting on floor, listening to the stories of my friend’s lives, eating good food. You’ll be hard pressed to convince me there’s more to life than sharing a meal and conversation with the people who simultaneously love and challenge you, and you them.

Just as I finally accept the true feelings of home I will embark on a new adventure. I have not pushed outside of my comfort zones and actively sought difference for far too long. It is time. I can begin to explore a new culture, place, and time with the comfort of this UNC family to return to. I will add to my definition of independence. I must risk accepting that all my experiences shape me and change me.

Today I am thankful for all those moments that have brought me to where I am today: how my parents let me choose my schooling, when I navigated my way in to a boy scout troop in order to hike a high adventure trip, learning to question my assumptions and learn to think flexibly from the 45 students who became my family in Vershire Vermont, brushing off the near death experience on a mountainside in the Wind River Range of Wyoming, creating for my incredibly brilliant and curious students in India. The list goes on and will continue to grow. All of these moments have helped me to know myself and look beyond. As e.e.cummings says “Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit.” This is what I will learn to do.

“Reveal the Human Spirit” will serve as my attempt to document the personal discoveries and hidden gems of travel. More importantly, however, it will uncover the incredible spirit in everything around me.

Enjoy these brief glimpses in to my life and I hope to hear about yours as well!

Cheers, Meg

Leave a Reply

